Skirt length: Are you a prude or a slut?

The below image is originally from this flikr.
I don’t believe in labels and am often offended by societies constant desire to judge, label and group girls as either ‘prudes’ or ‘sluts’. Especially as these judgements arise solely from observing a women’s appearance or superficial behaviours.
That’s why the below image resounds so heavily with me and why I wanted to share it. The image is meant for social commentary and is social satire to the long standing ‘proper-arbitrary-skirt-length’ debate.

Just for the record, I wear mine matron-length but pencil-cut. You know, just to confuse people.

skirt length

11 thoughts on “Skirt length: Are you a prude or a slut?

  1. I so agree with you about confusing people! Just before I got the e-mail about your new post, I myself posted something about an outfit I just made, featuring an asymmetrical skirt that’s longer on one side than the other (it’s for dancing— mainly), so what does that make me? I’m going to go with “impossible to define”. ; )

      • Even the color is ambiguous– I know it looks red in the picture, but the main color is actually a deep coral. And with all the different-colored layers of the skirt, it’s even less clear. Just the way I like it. : ) I find that, the more definite a color is, the harder it is to blend with other colors— and I really don’t like having to match things.

  2. Like it or not, what you choose to wear and how you choose to present yourself in public does say a lot about you. If a girl wears a “slut” length skirt, what exactly is she trying to tell the world about herself? If she wears a “prude” length skirt, that says something else about her. You will never get away from people labeling you or other people, no matter what. It’s hardwired into our brains to make split second judgments about people. I figure if you don’t like the way you are being judged, then present yourself in a way that conveys a different message.

    I have been blessed or cursed, depending how you look at it, with being tall and big boobed. Combine that with my long blonde hair and it’s not hard to imagine that I might occasionally be compared to a Barbie doll. I can’t help my genetics, so I generally avoid revealing clothes, which would naturally look “sluttier” on me than on a less voluptuous girl. I don’t want people to think of me as a slut or assume that I am insecure because I’m showing a lot of leg or cleavage. Do I have the “right” to wear those things if I want to? Sure. But other people still have the right to judge me for it. So I opt for clothing that is more conservative (my skirt lengths are all between “flirty” and “old fashioned”) and hope that offsets my physical characteristics that are generally considered, if not slutty, at least overly sexual.

    • With due respect I disagree with you. I think a woman should be able to wear a skirt of any length that she feels comfortable wearing and not have people make assumptions about her because of it. We don’t assume anything or judge a man based on the length of his shorts. Why should it be any different for a woman? We’re living in the 21st century where everyone advocates and believes in equality yet we’re still so quick to judge a woman based on her skirt length. One step forward and two steps back. If we keep accepting that society has a right to judge us based on something so superficial, and we keep changing our outfits to suit societies expectation we won’t ever make any progress. Of course people will always judge one another based on looks as a whole, that I doubt, will ever change. But to allow ourselves and each other to label one other based on the length of our skirts is something we need to stop accepting as the norm. Just because I wear a mini-skirt doesn’t mean I’m a slut or that I’m insecure about my body as you put it and just because I wear a floor length skirt doesn’t make me a prude. I should have a right to wear whatever the hell I want without anyone judging me for it. It’s a courtesy we extend to males. I think it’s important to question why we make such split second judgements about people and try to reflect on it rather than just accept it.

      • I’ll be honest, I do judge men on the length of their shorts. If they’re the 1970s running shorts style then he’s probably more than a little bit arrogant and a slave to hipster fashion. And if they’re those 3 quarter length things then he’s probably quite indecisive or insecure, either way he can’t bring himself to wear proper trousers or proper shorts.

        I do agree on the whole though, I think it’s silly to judge a woman based on hemline, especially when hemlines are so frequently based on the style of the outfit not the style of the woman. The only time I’d assume a woman was a prude because of a hem on the floor would be if she’s wearing a Nun’s habit, and even then it’s usually the tutting and praying for my immortal soul that gives her away. And of course, even if she IS a prude or a slut (although that word personally irks me for all sorts of reasons) what the hell’s it got to do with me or indeed anyone else?

Your two cents is appreciated here...

